Last Updated on January 22, 2023
Being able to cast two spells in one turn would make you quite powerful in many situations, but most likely, you have never managed to cast two spells during one action.
In this article, we will clarify whether or not you can actually do it and will talk about different approaches.
The bottom line is that you CAN cast two spells in a single turn. However, it doesn’t happen often, and there are a few requirements that need to be met.
Let’s take a look at a few different situations.
Casting Two Spells With Action Surge
Obviously, when you reach level two, you can go beyond your casual limits for a moment with Action Surge. It allows you to take additional Action on top of your normal Action and even a Bonus Action.
But can you cast two spells in one turn with Action Surge? The fact is that if you have already cast a bonus action spell, you can only cast Cantrips. Action Surge can’t change that.
However, if you cast a full action spell, then you can cast another full spell with Action Surge, but you can’t cast a Bonus Action spell.
Note that when using an Action Surge, you will need to take a short or long rest before you can use it again.
A nice example would be to cast a Fireball and then Shield vs. an Attack of Opportunity, and then use Action Surge and cast Lightning Bolt.
So, you CAN cast two spells with Action Surge, but only if you haven’t cast a Bonus Action spell in that turn.
Casting Two Spells With Quicken Spell Feat
Another thing that confuses many Dungeons & Dragons players is whether you can cast two spells in the same turn with Quicken Spell feat.
The short answer would be – NO, you can’t unless it’s a Cantrip.
The fact is that Quickened Spell doesn’t change the restriction of casting a spell as a Bonus Action.
Instead, it takes a one-action spell and makes it a bonus for that specific casting. It doesn’t lift the restriction for casting two spells in the same turn.
However, note that the spell whose casting time is longer than a full-round can’t be quickened. Also, you can’t use the Quicken Spell feat for just any spell.
Casting a Cantrip and a Spell in One Turn
So, you get one Action on your turn to either attack, dash, search, disengage, dodge, or cast a spell. The only exception would be when it comes to Bonus Action spells.
That way, you can use a Bonus Action spell, and since you are not spending the Action, you can use it to cast a Cantrip. However, you can’t cast a Bonus Action spell and then a regular spell.
Also, if you cast a spell as an Action, you can’t cast a Bonus Action spell.
More Things To Consider
Let’s consider what the requirements are for casting two spells in one turn.
First, one spell needs to have a casting time of one Bonus Action. Obviously, let’s assume that you haven’t used a Bonus Action for anything else in the current turn.
The other spell needs to be a Cantrip and needs to have a casting time of one Action. You can also cast a spell as an Action and then some other spell as a reaction on somebody else’s turn.
You can also cast a Bonus Action spell and then cast a spell as a reaction on somebody’s turn, for example, a Shield or a Counterspell.
These are the requirements needed for casting two spells in one turn.
Many players know that you can’t cast a Fireball spell as an action and then cast Misty Step as a bonus action spell. On the other hand, you can cast Sacred Flame as action and, for example, a Healing Word as a Bonus Action.
It is commonly understood that if you cast two spells in the same turn, the other spell needs to be a Cantrip.
For example, if you are a Sorcerer using a Quickened Spell, you can’t cast a Fireball and then spend sorcery points to cast Fireball again. It would make Sorcerers too powerful.
It would also allow Cleric to cast Guiding Bolt and Spiritual Weapon, which would give it a significant advantage against the target.
You should also notice, especially if you are an entry-level player, that spells with a casting time of one Bonus Action can only be used as Bonus Action.
You can’t use Bonus Action as a regular Action, so casting spells such as Misty Step two times in the same turn is not possible.
Imagine that you are a level-one Wizard who knows spells such as Light and Mage Hand. You also have Burning Hands, Mage Armor, and Mage Missile.
All of these spells require an Action to cast, so the rules related to Bonus Action are not important to you.
If you are a level-three Cleric and you cast a Spiritual Weapon (which is a second-level spell) as a Bonus Action Spell, you can cast a Cantrip such as Sacred Flame.
If you are a level-three Sorcerer and you get attacked, you can cast Fire Bolt and then use Quickened Spell to cast Mage Armor.
The fact is that there is no rule anywhere in the D&D 5E that prevents you from casting two spells in a single turn.
However, you will have to do a bit of research and preparation so that the next time you are actually able to use two spells, you will know exactly what to do.
- About Author
- Latest Posts
I played the game a lot as a kid, back in first edition. Over the past few years since 5e was released, I’ve really started getting back into it. Currently, I run a campaign online for some friends and my brothers, and we also play a side-sesh just to mix things up.